Festival Festival Jeunes Gens Modernes
Femmes

Concerts, performances,
exhibition, lectures, workshops
Thursday April 2nd through Saturday April 4th 2020
at the CCNO and the Astrolabe
with Mette Ingvartsen, Katerina Andreou, Aloïse Sauvage, Jacky Elder and Charlotte Imbault…


© Video: Zacharie Dutertre

Edito


In the late 1970s, pop music flooded the radio. The band Téléphone was a huge hit and progressive rock was ceaselessly growing more complicated. Punk gave way to French-style cold wave: Les Jeunes Gens Modernes. An impalpable movement, a media joke – a few dozen musicians cutting their teeth in an unbridled creative ferment. Today it still resonates for music groups.

Jeunes Gens Modernes, the new festival from the CCN¹, takes its title directly from the 1980s French musical movement. Directly inspired by its “army of romantics with an aesthetic of disillusionment”, this festival for “Modern Young People” launches a new event in Orléans. The Jeunes Gens Modernes festival is a space for celebration, encounter and discovery focused on dance and music. “Modernity” reflects the idea an epoch makes of itself, conscious of change or proclaiming originality. It reflects a certain experience of the period but also suggests a “modern perspective” of that period and that generation.

What was distinctive to this scene was perhaps a certain form of elegance, simultaneously awkward, nonchalant and erudite, cultivated and literary – even if all the references cited were far from fully mastered, analyses Jean-François Sanz, artistic director of the agnès b. endowment fund, who for this first edition is proposing an exhibition emblematic of this alternative scene. Re-branding the term “modern” while avoiding dichotomy between an (endorsed) past and an (overrated) present is the programming challenge for this brand new CCNO festival.

Jeunes Gens Modernes is above all a state of mind: the urge to go out, dance, make or listen to music, create, experiment, discover, share unique moments living and expressing yourself freely. And for the CCNO, an excuse for eccentricity!

Let’s remain, become, or stop being Young and Modern People… but above all, let’s do it together!

Maud Le Pladec.



Partners


French Ministry of Culture and Communication – D.G.C.A. – D.R.A.C. Centre-Val de Loire
City of Orléans
Centre - Val de Loire Region
Loiret Departmental Council
French Institute – French Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Orléans National Theatre
Théâtre d’Orléans
L’Astrolabe
agnès b.
Asterios
The Onda – National Office of Artistic Dissemination

Loire Vision
Les Inrockuptibles

Many thanks to Matthieu Goeury (Vooruit in Ghent) and Antoine Allain

Jeunes<br> Gens<br> Modernes

Jeunes
Gens
Modernes

Exposition, concerts
et performances
Du jeudi 31 janvier au samedi 2 février 2019
au CCNO, à l'Astrolabe, au Théâtre d’Orléans


© Réalisation vidéo : Zacharie Dutertre

© Photos : Laurent Philippe

Edito

À la fin des années 1970, la variété inonde la radio. Le groupe Téléphone fait un carton et le rock progressif n’en finit pas de se compliquer. Le punk laisse place à une cold wave « à la française » : Les Jeunes Gens Modernes. Mouvement impalpable, farce médiatique, quelques dizaines de musiciens y ont fait leurs armes dans un bouillonnement créatif décomplexé, qui résonne encore chez les groupes d’aujourd’hui.

Le festival Jeunes Gens Modernes, nouveau festival du CCN¹, tire directement son titre de ce mouvement musical des années 1980. Fortement inspirés par son « armée de romantiques avec une esthétique de la désillusion », nous proposons aujourd’hui d’inaugurer un nouveau rendez-vous à Orléans. Le festival Jeunes Gens Modernes est un lieu de festivités, de rencontres et de découvertes autour de la danse et de la musique. La modernité exprime l’idée qu’une époque se fait d’elle même, consciente d’un changement ou revendiquant une nouveauté, elle traduit une certaine expérience du temps mais elle offre aussi « un regard moderne » sur une époque et une génération.
Ce qu’il y avait de spécif ique à cette scène, c’était peut-être une certaine forme d’élégance, à la fois bancale, nonchalante et érudite, cultivée, littéraire, même si toutes les références invoquées étaient loin d’être maîtrisées,
analyse Jean-François Sanz, directeur artistique du fonds de dotation agnès b., qui pour cette première édition propose une exposition emblématique de cette scène alternative. Remettre le terme « moderne » au goût du jour, en évitant cette dichotomie entre passé (entériné) et présent (surestimé), est le défi de la programmation de ce tout nouveau festival du CCNO. Jeunes Gens Modernes, c’est surtout un état d’esprit : une envie de sortir, de danser, de faire ou écouter de la musique, de créer, d’expérimenter, de découvrir, de partager des moments uniques, de vivre et de s’exprimer librement. Pour le CCNO, c’est un prétexte à l’excentricité !

Restons, devenons ou arrêtons d’être des gens jeunes et modernes… mais surtout faisons-le ensemble !

Maud Le Pladec.



Partenaires


Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication - D.G.C.A. - D.R.A.C du Centre-Val de Loire
Ville d’Orléans
Région Centre - Val de Loire
Conseil Départemental du Loiret
Institut français - Ministère des affaires étrangères

Scène nationale d’Orléans
Théâtre d’Orléans
L’Astrolabe
agnès b.
Asterios
L’Onda - Office National de Diffusion Artistique

Loire Vision
Les Inrockuptibles

Remerciements à Matthieu Goeury (Vooruit à Gand) et Antoine Allain