Dance classes
samedi MAtIn Saturday morning with Johanna Levy

March through June 2020, 11 am–1 pm

with Johanna Levy

Semester registration (10 classes): 90 €

Free tryout session:

Saturday, March 7, 2020, 11 am

This weekly class is for amateurs who wish to practice contemporary dance on a regular basis. Both technical and creative, the Saturday morning course is given by the same instructor throughout the semester.

Classes for the second semester will be held 11 am–1 pm
from Saturday, March 7 through Saturday, June 27, 2020

Exceptionally, certain classes will instead take place 9 am–11 am


The career of Johanna Levy, choreographer of the company Ten, places her on the cutting edge between dance and theatre, with a strong influence from film. By examining the role of the audience, she creates work offering a perspective on dance, while encouraging active engagement from spectators. To achieve this, she directs her research directly related to the occupation of space by bodies in movement, examining how to explore angle of view and occupation of space.

After a global warm up of the body, in her class she invites us to encounter movement by different means, including manipulation, improvisation – alone, in pairs or in a group – and even the repetition of simple, rhythmic movements. She uses several methods of improvisation, always juxtaposing approaches with each other so as to lose sight of neither theatricality nor interaction between the participants.


Johanna Levy
studied dance at the Conservatoire de Lyon, at Maurice Béjart’s school in Switzerland and graduated with a university master’s degree in Performing Arts at Paris VIII. She spent a few years in London dancing for various companies, and toured internationally for eight years with the American company Troika Ranch, based in New York and Berlin. Back in France, she collaborated with the visual artist Alex Ceccetti, the contortionist Raphaëlle Boitel, the director Laureline Collavizza, and the choreographers Gaëtan Brun Picard, Emilio Calcagno and Thomas Chopin. She created her Compagnie Ten in 2013 and is part of the emerging choreographic landscape. She delights in discovering her own identity and originality. With the help of her loyal collaborators, she is able to explore her choreographic style focusing on the physical and emotional states that unfold around a particular situation.

Cours de danse
samedi MAtIn avec Johanna Levy

Réservations

De mars à juin 2020, 11h – 13h

avec Johanna Levy

Inscription semestrielle (10 cours) : 90 €

Séance d’essai gratuite :

samedi 7 mars 2020, 11h

Le cours hebdomadaire s’adresse aux amateur•rice•s désireux•euses de maintenir une pratique régulière de la danse contempo-raine. À la fois technique et créatif, le cours du samedi matin est donné par le•la même artiste-intervenant•e tout au long du semestre.

Cours second semestre : du samedi 7 mars, 11h – 13h au samedi 27 juin, 11h – 13h.

Certains cours seront exceptionnellement déplacés de 9h à 11h


Le parcours de Johanna Levy, chorégraphe de la compagnie Ten, l’amène à se situer à la lisière de la danse et du théâtre avec une forte influence cinématographique. En s’interrogeant sur la place du public, elle mène un travail qui offre une perspective sur la danse, et incite à une posture active du•de la spectateur•rice. Pour cela, elle dirige son travail de recherche en lien direct avec la prise d’espace des corps en mouvement et se questionne sur comment questionner l’angle de vue et la prise d’espace.

Après une mise en route globale du corps, elle propose dans ce cours d’aller à la rencontre du mouvement par différents moyens, comme la manipulation, les improvisations, seul•e, à deux ou en groupe, ou même la répétition de mouvements simples et rythmés. Elle propose plusieurs méthodes d’improvisations, toujours en confrontant les propositions entre elles pour ne jamais oublier le jeu théâtral, et la rencontre entre les participant•e•s.


Johanna Levy
a été formé au Conservatoire de Lyon puis à l’école de Maurice Béjart en Suisse et diplômée d’une maîtrise en Arts du Spectacle à Paris VIII. Johanna Levy passe quelques années à Londres où elle danse pour différentes compagnies. Elle tourne huit ans à l’international avec la compagnie américaine Troika Ranch, basée à New York et à Berlin. De retour en France elle collabore avec le plasticien Alex Ceccetti, la contorsionniste Raphaëlle Boitel, la metteuse en scène Laureline Collavizza, et les chorégraphes Gaëtan Brun Picard, Emilio Calcagno et Thomas Chopin. Elle crée sa Compagnie Ten en 2013 et s’inscrit dans le paysage de l’émergence chorégraphique. Elle se régale à trouver son identité et son originalité. Grâce à la complicité d’une équipe fidèle, elle peut explorer son écriture chorégraphique qui observe les états physiques et émotionnels qui se déploient autour d’une situation particulière.